Call for Christos Nikolaou PhD Award

Call for Christos Nikolaou PhD Award
You are here:

Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award at the 11th Symposium and Summer School On Service-Oriented Computing (SummerSoC) 2018

Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award was established to honor Christos Nikolaou’s career-long contributions in university education and research.

We would like to encourage talented graduates of Ph.D. granting institutions world-wide who recently completed their Ph.D. in the area of service-oriented computing to apply for the Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award 2018.

The award is not only an honor and distinction but is associated with 2000€ for the awardee, sponsored by StartTech Ventures.

The application includes a 2-page essay that highlights in a clear, simple, and precise manner the originality, contributions, and impact of the Ph.D. Thesis of the applicant. The application must be signed by both, the applicant and his/her Ph.D. advisor. With the application, the advisor nominates the applicant for this award.

The applicant must use the provided template. The application must also include the PDF file of both, the Ph.D. Thesis and the Ph.D. certificate issued by the university that indicates the completion of the studies and the satisfaction of the requirements for the doctoral degree.

Submission will be accepted via email to Mr. Themis Kutsuras at, beginning on February 12th, 2018, and ending on March 16th, 2018.

The awardee(s) are expected to attend the SummerSoC 2018 conference, and to give an overview talk on the awarded thesis. Also, the awardee is expected to contribute an overview paper on her/his thesis to be published in the IBM Technical Report.

The applicant must have completed his/her Ph.D. Dissertation, and the date of the Ph.D. certificate issued by the university must be between January 1st, 2017 and the submission deadline (March 16th, 2018).

Submission Open Date
Monday, February 12th, 2018

Submission Deadline
March 16th, 2018

The template of the application can be found here.

Wolfgang Reisig, Humboldt University, Germany (Chair)
Theo Härder (U of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Schahram Dustdar (TU Vienna, Austria)
Willem-Jan van Heuveln (Tilburg University, Netherlands)
Frank Leymann (U of Stuttgart, Germany)
Kostas Magoutis (U of Ioannina and FORTH, Greece)
Bernhard Mitschang (U of Stuttgart)
Maria Papadopouli (U of Crete and FORTH, Greece)
Dimitris Plexousakis, (University of Crete and FORTH, Greece)

Copyright © 2005 - 2022, © Transformation Services Laboratory
Powered and Supported by OpenIT , Αποστολή SMS , FIVET , IVF , GPS TRACKING